Coventry City 1-1 Luton Town (5-6 pens): Hatters win shootout to reach Premier League

Jordan Clark’s goal was his fourth of the season – and first since January

Luton Town completed their journey from non-league to Premier League as they beat Coventry City 6-5 on penalties to win the Championship play-off final at Wembley.

Gustavo Hamer equalised for Coventry to cancel out a first-half strike from Jordan Clark as the game finished in a 1-1 draw after 120 minutes.

Both goals came after Luton lost captain Tom Lockyer early on after he collapsed on the pitch but the defender was taken to hospital where the club have confirmed that he is “responsive and talking” to his family, who are with him.

Coventry’s Fankaty Dabo blasted the 12th penalty in the shootout over the crossbar to send the happy Hatters to the Premier League for the first time.

Having last been in English football’s top flight in 1992, the year the Premier League began, Luton have waited 31 years to take their place at the top table.

But they were still in the fifth tier only nine years ago after a decade of financial hardship.

And, in becoming the first side to go all the way from the top tier to non-league and back, it completed a remarkable achievement for Luton boss Rob Edwards, who began this season as manager of the Hatters fierce local rivals Watford.

Just a year on from managing Forest Green to the League Two title, Edwards won his second successive promotion.

He left Forest Green to take on the Watford job at the end of last season, but was then sacked in late September.

He then returned to management in November when Nathan Jones walked out on Luton for a second time – and Edwards has now masterminded the completion of one of football’s great journeys.



Formation 3-5-1-1

  • 13Wilson
  • 16McNallyBooked at 46mins
  • 5McFadzean
  • 3DoyleSubstituted forPanzoat 115′minutes
  • 7Norton-CuffySubstituted forDaboat 90′minutes
  • 6Kelly
  • 14Sheaf
  • 38HamerSubstituted forPalmerat 80′minutesSubstituted forEcclesat 102′minutes
  • 27Bidwell
  • 8AllenSubstituted forGoddenat 45′minutes
  • 17Gyökeres


  • 1Moore
  • 2Panzo
  • 11Wilson-Esbrand
  • 23Dabo
  • 24Godden
  • 28Eccles
  • 45Palmer


Formation 3-5-2

  • 34Horvath
  • 32OshoSubstituted forPottsat 112′minutes
  • 4LockyerSubstituted forBurkeat 12′minutes
  • 29Bell
  • 2Drameh
  • 17MpanzuSubstituted forBerryat 98′minutes
  • 13Nakamba
  • 18ClarkBooked at 99mins
  • 45DoughtySubstituted forOnyedinmaat 84′minutes
  • 9Morris
  • 11AdebayoSubstituted forTaylorat 105′minutes


  • 1Shea
  • 3Potts
  • 8Berry
  • 16Burke
  • 22Campbell
  • 23Onyedinma
  • 25Taylor

Michael Oliver


Live Text




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *